Residence Permit under the Friendly Nations Visa

The residence permit is granted to nationals of certain countries under the friendship and collaboration agreements that the Republic of Panama has signed with these countries.  Currently, this list consists of 50 countries, according to Executive Decree No. 226 of July 20, 2021. Foreigners and their dependents (spouse, children under 25 years old, and parents) can apply for this visa.

 Under this agreement, provisional residency is obtained for two (2) years, with the option to apply for permanent residency after these initial two (2) years, which grants rights to the ID card issued by the Electoral Tribunal of the Republic of Panama (known as the E-type ID card).


For this subcategory, one must choose one of the following options:


  a. For employment reasons by establishing a work relationship with a Panamanian company duly registered in Panama, which must have a specific economic activity.


b. For investment reasons in real estate, proving ownership of the property, personally by the applicant, in a legal entity where the applicant is the ultimate beneficiary of the shares or founder and ultimate beneficiary of a private interest foundation, with a minimum value of $200,000.00 (two hundred thousand). The acquisition of the real estate can be financed through a local bank. 


c. For reasons of a Fixed-Term Bank Deposit in a general licensed bank operating in the national territory, demonstrating the existence of a fixed-term deposit of USD 200,000.00 (two hundred thousand dollars) that is free of liens, with a minimum validity of three (3) years. This investment can be made personally by the applicant, by a legal entity in which the applicant is the ultimate natural person beneficiary of the shares, contributions, or social quotas of the society; or founder and ultimate beneficiary of a private interest foundation. 


Qualified countries:


Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States of America, Uruguay, Peru, Mexico and Paraguay.


If you wish to obtain additional information about the costs and requirements on how to obtain the residency permit, please leave us your contact information.

To Top
Open chat
Hello 👋
How can we help you?